September 8th, 2020

The Castine Historical Society is pleased to announce the election of two new Honorary Directors, Lynne Dearborn and Ruth Scheer, in recognition of their combined 41 years of outstanding board service. Honorary Directors are former board members who through their exceptional initiative and leadership made an enduring contribution to the Castine Historical Society and the town. Dearborn served on the board for 18 years and Scheer for 23 years.

The Castine Historical Society's Abbott School and Grindle House. Photo by Loi Thai.

Dearborn and Scheer exemplify the thoughtful and productive leadership that over the decades has helped the Historical Society grow and professionalize. Together, they co-chaired three Castine House and Garden Tours, which drew throngs of visitors to the town and generated substantial funds for the Historical Society’s programs. Not resting on their laurels, they continue serving as co-chairs for the Tour, which was put on hold due to the pandemic. The event is rescheduled for July 22, 2021.

As board members, Dearborn and Scheer contributed to the Historical Society in many ways. During Dearborn’s tenure as a board member she served on many standing committees including programs, collections, exhibitions, nominating, governance, and the executive director search. She helped each committee meet its mission through her incisiveness, skill, and humor. Since retiring from the board, Dearborn continues to serve on the collections committee and as an exhibit docent.

Scheer also contributed to the Historical Society’s growth over the years. She joined the newly formed Board of Directors in 1995. During her tenure on the board, she served on the governance committee, chaired the nominating committee for 15 years, and chaired the executive director search committee. In addition she spearheaded several strategic plans for the Historical Society. Sheer’s keen intellect, excellent judgment, and devotion to the Historical Society helped the Historical Society achieve its mission to bring Castine’s history to life. Since retiring from the board, Scheer continues to volunteer by serving on the finance and development committees.

Dearborn and Scheer join a group of esteemed Honorary Directors, which includes James Day, David Adams, Sara Foote, Ann Miller, John Parish, and Robert Rettig.

The Castine Historical Society seeks to invigorate Castine through collaborative exploration and stewardship of our region’s rich history, engaging residents and visitors of all ages in Castine’s extraordinary past and, through it, that of New England and North America.

The Historical Society’s Abbott School, featuring the exhibit gallery, gift shop, and a community meeting space at 17 School Street, Castine is closed for the 2020 season. The Historical Society is offering free historic walking tours and a seated tour of the town common through October 11. For further information on these tours, the Castine Historical Society, or the online gift shop visit the website at or call 207-326-4118.