

MINUTES

Annual Meeting Thursday, August 19, 2021

Mission Statement:

We seek to invigorate our community through collaborative exploration and stewardship of our region's rich history, engaging residents and visitors of all ages in Castine's extraordinary past and, through it, that of New England and North America.

Meeting Logistics:

Because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the Annual Meeting was held electronically. Members were sent ballots to vote for new Directors, and to approve minutes from the 2019 Annual Meeting. [NOTE: Because of COVID-19, there was no 2020 annual meeting. Elections for 2020 were held electronically and Board chair reports were distributed electronically to members].

Agenda:

- 1. Welcome Ellie Benjamin
- 2. Approval of 2019 annual meeting minutes
- 3. Chair Reports
 - a. Finance Susie Hatch
 - b. Exhibits Brooke Tierney
 - c. Collections Richard Ames
 - d. Buildings & Grounds Marc Pelletier
 - e. Education Alice Alston
 - f. Development Lisa Haugen
 - g. Executive Director Report Lisa Simpson Lutts
 - h. Governance Committee Report George Hatch
- 4. Vote by Board on Honorary Directors George Hatch
- 5. Recognition of Retiring Board Member Ellie Benjamin
- 6. Update on vote for new Board Members Ellie Benjamin

- 7. Introduction of new Officer slate Ellie Benjamin
- 8. Meeting Close

President Ellie Benjamin convened the meeting at 4:01pm and provided brief introductory remarks.

President Benjamin then called for any issues with the 2019 minutes as provided electronically to members. Hearing none, the 2019 minutes were approved as voted by the membership.

Chairs of various committees reported briefly to the membership on activities that engaged their committees in the current year. [Please see reports attached to these minutes for specific information].

Finance - Susie Hatch
Exhibits - Brooke Tierney
Collections - Richard Ames
Buildings & Grounds - Marc Pelletier
Education - Alice Alston
Development - Lisa Haugen
Governance - George Hatch

Executive Director Lisa Simpson Lutts provided an overview of CHS programs and activities for what has been an unprecedented year and a half during which the Society had to change emphasis and direction "on-the-fly" to protect both visitors and staff during the COVID-19 pandemic. [Please see attached for her report].

George Hatch introduced the candidates for new Honorary Directors: Jack Macdonald and Marcia Mason. He noted that by the Bylaws, the Board of Directors formally votes to elect new Honorary Directors. Alice Alston made the motion to elect Jack Macdonald and Marcia Mason as Honorary Directors; Ellie Benjamin second. Board vote was unanimous.

George Hatch also recognized the service of Ellie Benjamin as President of the Society with thanks and appreciation for her steady leadership during a challenging and stressful two years for CHS due to COVID-19 restrictions on normal CHS programs and operations.

Ellie Benjamin then recognized outgoing Board member Susie Hatch for her long service and good works for the Society, especially for her ten years tenure in the critical

office as Treasurer as Society carved out a new vision and carried out a new Strategic Plan.

Ellie Benjamin introduced new Board members that the membership has elected to initial three-year terms: Karen Lyons, Brooke Tenney and Roberta Boczkiewicz. Alice Alston and Ellie Benjamin will begin the second of their three-year terms.

Ellie Benjamin noted that the Board elects its officers from within its membership and announced the following slate: George Hatch, President; Howard Lowell, Vice President; Lisa Haugen, Secretary; and John Mitchell, Treasurer.

The meeting closed at 4:40pm, followed by a lecture by Maine Maritime Academy Professor of Marine Transportation Captain Richard F. Miller, "The Square-Rigged Ship: Form & Function – Then and Now.

Election of Officers:

In a separate meeting as required by the CHS Bylaws, on the Motion of Alice Alston, seconded by Mary Dearborn, the Board unanimously voted by email to elect the following Officers for 2021-2022: George Hatch, President; Howard Lowell, Vice President; Lisa Haugen, Secretary; and John Mitchell, Treasurer.

Respectfully submitted:

Howard P. Lowell

Secretary